Directly to navigation - skip meta navigation |
To contents - skip navigation |
To multi purpose bar - skip contents |

Art History and Aesthetics (Master of Arts)

Art History and Aesthetics (Master of Arts)

The Master’s degree course in Art History and Aesthetics builds on the knowledge and skills gained at undergraduate level. As a Master’s student, you will deepen your specialist skills and learn how to carry out your own independent study and research. You will explore the parameters that influence artistic processes and research how artistic traditions and existing motifs develop as well as how to understand references in art. You will become aware of how media and medialities affect perception.

The course is structured around three key modules. In ‘Speaking and Writing’, we consider language as a medium of insight. To become sensibilised to the implicit and explicit dimensions of knowledge inherent in language, different modes of speaking and writing are presented and practiced. ‘Perception’ provides an introduction to the history and aesthetics of reception, familiarising students with the history of the gaze in different cultures and with visualisation techniques. Finally, ‘Display’ asks students to look more closely at ways in which knowledge is presented and performed; we examine exhibitions, archives, catalogues, newspapers and websites in terms of their aesthetic, provenance, effect and mode of address.

These modules are complemented by practical work in curating and visits to workshops and plenary sessions in Fine Art . Collaborative projects prepare students for a variety of possible careers.

What happens after graduation?
Graduates of the Master’s degree course work in museums, publishing houses, galleries and other exhibition venues. Continuing your studies at doctoral level opens up the path to an academic career.

 

Information

Degree programme Master of Arts
Standard period of study 4 semesters
Modules Speaking and Writing, Perception, Display, Specialisation, Study Trips, Project, Internship, Art History and Aesthetics Practice, Methodological Reflection, Language and Media, Knowledge Cultures, Active Citizenship
Teaching Language German
Course type Full-time course
Course Commencement Winter semester
Application Period Annually from 1 June – 15 August
Admission Restriction Yes

Entry Requirements

  • Proof of a Bachelor or Bachelor-equivalent degree in a relevant or closely related subject.
  • Students who are not from German-speaking countries require a certificate of German language proficiency.

 

Application Process

The application process at the HBK Braunschweig takes place in two stages:

1. Submission of online application via the HBK Braunschweig website
2. Submission of application and supporting documents, including a personal statement, in hard copy by 15 August.

Places on the degree course are awarded on the basis of an overall mark for your submitted documents. This mark is determined by the selection panel during the selection process. If your undergraduate degree has not yet been awarded by the time the application period closes, we request that you provide a letter from your university attesting your provisional average grades and proof that you have obtained at least 150 ECTS credits.

You can find up to date information on the application process here

 

Note

The study of Art History and Aesthetics at the HBK Braunschweig stands out from other degree programmes in that it forms an integral part of a broader University of Art structure. Studying Art History and Aesthetics at Master’s level gives students the chance to to experience at first-hand how artists and designers work, for example by participating in specialist plenary sessions offered by the Fine Arts programme.

Last amended by Präsidialbüro/Kommunikation und Medien on 11.03.2019

Zur Navigation - Metanavigation überspringen |
Zum Inhalt - Navigation überspringen |
Zur Marginalspalte - Inhalt überspringen |

Kunstwissenschaft (Master of Arts)

Der Masterstudiengang Kunstwissenschaft baut auf den Kenntnissen und Qualifikationen des erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Bachelorstudiums auf. Die Studierenden vertiefen ihre fachlichen Kompetenzen und werden zum selbstständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten angeleitet. Sie erforschen, welche Parameter künstlerische Prozesse beeinflussen, wie sich in der Kunst Traditionen ausbilden, Motive wandeln, Referenzen entschlüsseln lassen und wie sich Medialitäten auf die Wahrnehmung auswirken.

Die Studienstruktur weist drei Schwerpunkte auf:
Im Modul "Sprechen und Schreiben" wird Sprache als Medium der Erkenntnis reflektiert. Um für die impliziten und expliziten Dimensionen des Wissens, die in der Sprache mitschwingen, zu sensibilisieren, werden verschiedene Modi des Sprechens und Schreibens vorgestellt und eingeübt. Das Modul "Wahrnehmen" führt an Rezeptionsgeschichte und -ästhetik heran und macht mit der Geschichte von Blickkulturen sowie mit Visualisierungstechniken vertraut. Das Modul "Zeigen" fokussiert Präsentationsformen des Wissens: Untersucht werden Ausstellungen, Archive, Kataloge, Zeitschriften und Websites im Hinblick auf ihre Ästhetik, Herkunft, Wirkungsweise und Adressierung.

Hinzu treten Praxisanteile im Feld des Kuratierens und der Besuch von Werkstätten und Plenen der Freien Kunst. Durch Kooperationsprojekte werden die Studierenden auf mögliche Berufsfelder vorbereitet.

Was kommt nach dem Studium?

Nach dem Masterstudium bieten sich den Absolvent*innen Berufsfelder in Museen, Verlagen, Ausstellungshäusern und Galerien. Eine anschließende Promotion öffnet den Weg in eine wissenschaftliche Karriere.

 

Kurzinformation

Abschluss Master of Arts
Regelstudienzeit 4 Semester
Nebenfächer ./.
Studienbereiche Sprechen und Schreiben, Wahrnehmen, Zeigen, Vertiefen, Exkursion, Projekt, Praktikum, Kunstwissenschaftliche Praxis, Methodische Reflexion, Sprache und Medien, Wissenskulturen, Aktive Bürgerschaft
Unterrichtssprache Deutsch
Studienform Vollzeitstudium
Studienbeginn Wintersemester
Bewerbungsfrist jährlich 1. Juni – 15. August (Eingang!)
Zulassungsbeschränkung Ja

Voraussetzungen

  • Nachweis eines Bachelorabschlusses oder gleichwertigen Studienabschlusses in einem betreffenden oder fachlich eng verwandten Studiengang
  • Studierende aus dem nicht-deutschsprachigen Ausland benötigen einen Sprachnachweis

 

Bewerbung

Die Bewerbung an der HBK Braunschweig erfolgt in zwei Schritten:

1. Online-Bewerbung über die Website der HBK Braunschweig
2. Übersendung der Bewerbungsunterlagen bis 15. August, zu denen u. a. ein Motivationsschreiben gehört.

Die Vergabe der Studienplätze erfolgt nach einer Verfahrens note. Wenn bei Ablauf der Bewerbungs­frist der Studienabschluss noch nicht vorliegt, ist bei der Bewerbung eine Bescheinigung der Hoch ­schule über die Bewer tung der Abschlussarbeit und einer vorläufigen Durchschnittsnote mit dem Nachweis von mind. 150 Leistungspunkten einzu reichen.

Hinweis

Die Kunstwissenschaft an der HBK Braunschweig zeichnet sich durch ihre Integration in das Gesamtgefüge einer Kunsthochschule aus. Den Studierenden des Masterstudiengangs Kunst­wissenschaft öffnen sich Einblicke in künstlerische und gestalterische Arbeitsprozesse, zum Beispiel durch die Teilnahme an den Fachklassenplenen der Freien Kunst.

Aktuelle Hinweise zum Bewerbungsverfahren

Zuletzt bearbeitet von Präsidialbüro/Kommunikation und Medien am 18.02.2019

Banner Informationen

Zentrale Studienberatung
T +49 (0) 531 391-9269
E-Mail Studienberatung

Sprechstunden:
Mo bis Do, 10 - 12 Uhr
Do 12.30 - 15 Uhr